Dr. Dietmar Straub


Vita

Competencies

Industry Segments


Dr. Dietmar Straub (born 1954).

After completing a diploma in physics at the University of Würzburg, Dr. Dietmar Straub, born in 1954, went on to graduate as doctor of physics in 1983. He began his professional career in 1983 at IBM in the USA at the prestigious Thomas J. Watson Research Center.

From 1986 to 2001, Dr. Straub worked in various management positions within the Mannesmann Group, working at Mannesmann Kienzle and its successor companies from 1986 to 1997. He started working in the production department of this company and in 1990 gradually began to take on responsibility for the production area of "Information Systems for Commercial Vehicles." As part of the integration of the VDO Group into the Mannesmann Group, he assumed additional responsibility for the combined driver information systems business and contributed significantly to the company's transition from a component to a system supplier.

In 1997, he served as Chairman of the Board of VDO Kienzle GmbH, Villingen-Schwenningen.

From 1997 to 2000, he was responsible for the automation division as a member of the board of Mannesmann Rexroth AG, Lohr, which included the business activities of Mannesmann Rexroth AG in drive and control technology, pneumatics and linear technology. At the same time, he was also Chairman of the Board of Rexroth Indramat GmbH, Lohr. He was responsible for the formation and further development of the newly created automation division and for increasing the profitability of the related business units.

From 2000 to 2003, Dr. Straub was Chairman of the Board of Mannesmann Dematic AG, Wetter, rebranded Siemens Dematic AG, Nuremberg in 2001.

During this time, he oversaw the merging of the logistics automation business divisions of Siemens and Mannesmann and the adaptation of the consolidated company to the difficult market environment that resulted following 9/11 and the Internet bubble. From 2002 to 2009, Dr. Straub was also Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Reinisch AG, Karlsruhe.

From 2004 until the end of 2005, Dr. Straub was responsible for the global commercial vehicle systems business division in his capacity as board member of Knorr-Bremse AG, Munich. He managed the global activities of the division together with the core areas of technology, knowledge transfer, and optimization of the global production network and worked extensively on developing internal and external growth.

During the period from 2006 to March 2007, Dr. Straub worked as a freelance consultant.

From April 2007 to December 2011, Dr. Dietmar Straub was first Chairman of the Management Board of MPM Mannesmann Plastics Machinery GmbH and, after a change in the legal status and name of the company in 2007, then served as Chairman of the Executive Board of KraussMaffei AG, Munich. Under his leadership, the company underwent a strategic reorientation and considerable restructuring. Additional focal points included the successful management of the 2008-2009 economic crisis and the development and implementation of a far-reaching strategy for the future, based on innovation, globalization, and performance improvement.

From January 2012, Dr. Straub has been working as an independent consultant with a focus on strategy development, strategy implementation, and change management.

In addition, Dr. Straub has been a member of the board of the "Ausstellungs- und Messeausschusses der Deutschen Wirtschaft e.V". ((AUMA; Association of the German Trade Fair Industry) from 2010 until 2013.

Between 2012 and 2015 he has been a senior advisor for Roland Berger Strategy Consultants, Munich. Since 2012 he is member of the advisory board of Kurtz Holding GmbH & Co. Beteiligungs KG, Kreuzwertheim. In 2013 he became Deputy Chairman of the Advisory Board at Troester GmbH & Co. KG, Hanover and was also appointed to the advisrory board at Dr.-Ing. Georg Weddige Industriebeteiligungen GmbH und Co. Holding KG.

Dr. Dietmar Straub

German

Impressum

Dr. Dietmar Straub


Vita

Kompetenzen

Branchen


Nach seinem Studium der Physik an der Universität Würzburg mit dem Abschluss Diplom-Physiker promovierte der 1954 geborene Dr. Dietmar Straub im Jahr 1983 zum Doktor der Physik. Er begann seine berufliche Karriere 1983 bei IBM in den USA am renommierten Thomas J. Watson Research Center.

Von 1986 bis 2001 arbeitete Herr Dr. Straub in verschiedenen Führungsfunktionen innerhalb des Mannesmann-Konzerns, von 1986 bis 1997 bei der Mannesmann Kienzle bzw. den Nachfolgegesellschaften.

Im Jahre 1997 war er Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung der VDO Kienzle GmbH, Villingen-Schwenningen.

Von 1997 bis zum Jahr 2000 war er als Vorstandsmitglied der Mannesmann Rexroth AG, Lohr, für den Bereich Automation zuständig, der die Aktivitäten von der Mannesmann Rexroth AG in der Steuerungs- und Antriebstechnik, Pneumatik und Lineartechnik umfasste. Gleichzeitig war er Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung der Rexroth Indramat GmbH, Lohr. Seine Aufgabe war die Formierung und Weiterentwicklung des neu geschaffenen Bereiches Automation sowie die Steigerung der Ertragskraft der betreffenden Unternehmenseinheiten.

Ab dem Jahr 2000 bis 2003 war Herr Dr. Straub Vorstandsvorsitzender der Mannesmann Dematic AG, Wetter (bis 2001), anschließend Bereichsvorstand Siemens bei der Nachfolgegesellschaft Siemens Dematic AG, Nürnberg.

Während dieser Zeit war er verantwortlich für die Zusammenführung der Geschäftsfelder Produktions- und Logistikautomation von Siemens und Mannesmann und die Anpassung des vereinten Unternehmens an das geschrumpfte Marktumfeld im Zusammenhang mit 9/11 und Internetblase. Seit 2002 bis 2009 war Herr Dr. Straub zudem Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrates der reinisch AG, Karlsruhe.

Von 2004 bis Ende 2005 verantwortete Herr Dr. Straub als Vorstandsmitglied der Knorr-Bremse AG, München, den globalen Unternehmensbereich Systeme für Nutzfahrzeuge. Er führte die globalen Aktivitäten zusammen mit den Schwerpunkten Technologie- und Know-HowTransfer, Optimierung des globalen Produktionsverbunds und gestaltete umfänglich internes wie externes Wachstum.

In dem Zeitraum 2006 bis März 2007 war Herr Dr. Straub freiberuflich beratend tätig.

Vom April 2007 bis zum Dezember 2011 war Dr. Dietmar Straub zunächst Vorsitzender der Geschäftsführung der MPM Mannesmann Plastics Machinery GmbH und nach Form- und Namenswechsel des Unternehmens 2007 Vorstandsvorsitzender der KraussMaffei AG, München. Unter seiner Führung wurde das Unternehmen strategisch neu ausgerichtet und in erheblichem Umfang umstrukturiert. Schwerpunkt war darüber hinaus die erfolgreiche Bewältigung der Wirtschaftskrise 2008-2009 sowie die Entwicklung und Umsetzung einer weitreichenden Zukunftsstrategie basierend auf Innovationen, Globalisierung und Performance-Steigerung.

Ab Januar 2012 ist Dr. Straub als selbständiger Berater mit den Schwerpunkthemen Transformations-Management, Steigerung der Unternehmensleistung, Strategieentwicklung- und -umsetzung und als Coach für Führungsteams tätig.

Darüber hinaus war Dr. Straub von 2010 bis 2013 Mitglied des Vorstandes des Ausstellungs- und Messeausschusses der deutschen Wirtschaft e.V. (AUMA).

Von 2012 bis 2015 war er als Senior Advisor für Roland Berger Strategy Consultants, München tätig. Seit 2012 ist er Mitglied des Beirates der Kurtz Holding GmbH & Co. Beteiligungs KG, Kreuzwertheim, seit 2013 zudem stellvertretender Beiratsvorsitzender für die Troester GmbH & Co. KG, Hannover und Beirat bei Dr.-Ing. Georg Weddige Industriebeteiligungen GmbH und Co. Holding KG. Seit 2016 hält er ein Mandat als Beirat der Conjuncta GmbH, Hamburg.

Dr. Dietmar Straub

English

Impressum